Adult Online Learning- Final Reflections

computer-103577_640
Integrating Web 2.0 into Classroom Activities to Enhance Learning

Most Significant Learning Experience

Before this course, I would only use a submission link and post the title of the assignment due. There was no repeat of the instructions; possibly I would have included a due date. There would probably not been the identification of how many points the assignment was worth and any grading tools would either be omitted or separate from the module/tasks. I used my LMS to create Web-enhanced classes but not truly blended or fully online curriculum. When working within an LMS, it is important to understand the tools available, make the best use of the platform to deliver content in an organized and communicated way. I found it challenging to ensure that all of my due dates and explanations for deliverables were consistent and clear (dates matched, delivery of content description repeated, attached rubrics and scoring tools). To ensure that students understood the expectations of the activities and the assignments. I realize that clear communication and consistency is essential for students to navigate the online environment. I now have a greater appreciation for the detail that is put into each of my graduate course modules. At the beginning of my entry into the MET program, I did not have the knowledge to fully appreciate all of the hard work that goes into effective online course creation. I took for granted the amount of forethought and careful planning that is essential for successful online coursework.

Before this course, I would only use a submission link and post the title of the assignment due. There was no repeat of the instructions; possibly I would have included a due date. There would probably not been the identification of how many points the assignment was worth and any grading tools would either be omitted or separate from the module/tasks. I used my LMS to create Web-enhanced classes but not truly blended or fully online curriculum. When working within an LMS, it is important to understand the tools available, make the best use of the platform to deliver content in an organized and communicated way. I found it challenging to ensure that all of my due dates and explanations for deliverables were consistent and clear. (dates matched, delivery of content description repeated, attached rubrics and scoring tools) To ensure that students understood the expectations of the activities and the assignments. I realize that clear communication and consistency is essential for students to navigate the online environment. I now have a greater appreciation for the detail that is put into each of my graduate course modules. At the beginning of my entry into the MET program, I did not have the knowledge to fully appreciate all of the hard work that goes into effective online course creation. I took for granted the amount of forethought and careful planning that is essential for successful online coursework.

Plan to incorporate new knowledge learned from this course

For future practice, I intend to ensure that all assignments and deliverables are communicated with due dates, an estimated time allowed for the deliverable along with the possible points and any rubrics associated with the activities or assignments. I intend to incorporate activities within my LMS that provide authentic blended learning opportunities for my learners. I want to capitalize on the best of both platforms and reserve my classroom time for the most productive activities within the classroom.

For future practice, I intend to ensure that all assignments and deliverables are communicated with due dates, an estimated time allowed for the deliverable along with the possible points and any rubrics associated with the activities or assignments. I intend to incorporate activities within my LMS that provide authentic blended learning opportunities for my learners. I want to capitalize on the best of both platforms and reserve my classroom time for the most productive activities within the classroom.

I learned how important clear expectations are for adult learners. Adults are self-directed but need guidance. They need to have expectations outlined. Since beginning the MET program, I have learned the utility of well-written rubrics. This course reminded again how important both rubrics and described activities (within the module and again within the submission area) are for learners. Rubrics provide clear expectations and facilitate unbiased assessment of student activities.

Working with Moodle, I discovered that you could mask students as you are grading assignments which can potentially help mitigate any unintended bias in grading.

Specific practices I plan on implementing

1. Organization of Materials by Topic that is further scaffolded into sections rather than using one long unit.

2. Using more created videos. The use of original videos is time consuming but is impactful in a course. There are several advantages: Videos created by the instructor increase instructor presence, and can provide specific instruction tailored to the goals of the instructor’s course (because it is created by the instructor, extra information that could increase the cognitive load for the student can be left out or chunked into manageable content sections). The videos can be used to demonstrate exemplary performance and outline expectations, important for adult learners who are working mostly autonomously within this online environment.

3. Identifying time commitment for students by providing an estimation of time to complete activities within each unit and section and providing students with a guide for time management to complete the module activities and lessons either through weekly email reminders/announcements or the course syllabus/calendar.

4. Ensure consistency between the learning module assignments, activities and the submission of any deliverables. (providing consistent instructions in both locations to include completion time, points, and due dates).

5. Create an active instructor presence within the course, beginning with a personalized introduction and providing weekly communication either through written, video or voice. I have learned that this is important to maintain student engagement, through the course and facilitates the development of a relationship through consistent interactions.

Personal Reflection

On a personal note, I have to share that during this course I utilized a blended format for my summer lab course. The course is a very fast paced 5-week summer lab that covers ten chapters of intensive care medicine curriculum. This course is taught as a traditional brick and mortar class and is overwhelming for students. Last summer session I developed this course as a fully online course for EDTECH 512, but I wanted to incorporate it into a blended class first to hash out some of the issues that may be present in a fully online format. From the beginning, I was keenly aware of the potential to overwhelm them with content. Being fully online restricts you to evaluating the student’s online time. In the classroom, it is also pretty straightforward, but when you have both, it is tempting to add more and more. I was aware of that instinct so throughout the semester I worked to evaluate which activities were essential for online and which I would continue to provide in the classroom setting. I have to say that many of this week’s readings would have been helpful at the beginning of my class. However, I also found that I implemented many of the critical recommendations such as weekly communication, clear assignment instructions, and assignment submission instructions, and an integrated grade book. A couple of class sessions I fell into the lecture trap, but after seeing their nodding heads, got myself back on track (prepared better for class activities and discussions). I had three opportunities to provide 1:1 support of the 10 of my students. Some of the online activities were modified and even eliminated because the class was not entirely online.

There were also unexpected technical issues with the simulation software with my Apple product users, PC users did not experience the same problems. I had to be flexible and accommodating for some assignments so that students could access the school computer library which has restricted summer hours, but I am happy to say that the students took charge of their learning and participated cooperatively with myself and their peers. There were no “excuses” only apologize and negotiate ways they could get the work completed. Many came up with solutions for the problem on their own and posed them to me. So it appears the introduction of roles and expectations was successful. Plus, I think that I just have a great group this year. It was nice to attempt this type of course while taking this class. I believe that it has helped me throughout the past several weeks and I have enjoyed the readings because I have found them very pertinent and helpful. Note: this is my first attempt at a hybrid class. Previously I have used “Web-enhanced” versions of this course, but nothing close to as well planned or thought out. I realize that integrating technology is more than merely learning how to use tools, it is more about learning how to incorporate the tools successfully.


Leave a comment